Life Hidden Within

I hold a seed within my hand,
It’s from a peach that I just ate;
I plant it in a pot of earth
With hopes that it will germinate.

I water it and keep it warm,
I watch and wait for many days;
Until at last a shoot appears,
It’s seeking out some solar rays.

As weeks go by it grows and grows,
It’s soon too big for its small pot;
It’s time to plant it outside, in
A warm and sunny, sheltered spot.

At first it struggles to take hold
But soon enough it grows once more;
Its branches stretch towards the sky,
Its roots seek food and downward bore.

For many seasons, growing strong,
Until the trunk is thick and stout;
And then one springtime blossoms bloom,
The bees start buzzing round about.

I hold a peach within my hand,
It’s from a tree that I helped grow;
Its juicy flesh I’ll now consume
Then have another seed to sow.

Leave a Reply

